We use fiction all the time. It’s how we describe ourselves to friends, how we plan a route across town, how we judge candidates in an election, how we imagine what’s next. The fiction we encounter in books is a microcosm of the fictions we use throughout the day. Reading conditions us for life. To be a better reader is to be a better person.

Fiction Advocate is a community of people devoted to reading better. We make fiction, essays, and literary criticism. We publish books. We interview authors, critique new writing, comment on the publishing industry, and recommend films and music. We look to reading for a way forward in the world.

We are always open for pitches and submissions.

We’d love to hear from you at fictionadvocate [at] gmail [dot] com.

Or say hello on Twitter, Tumblr, and Facebook.


Brian Hurley
Michael Moats
Matt Tanner 
E. B. Bartels
Diksha Basu
Kyle Boelte
Mackenzie Brady
Zach Borenstein
Courtney Bowman
Matt Bucher
Caitlin Callaghan
Don Carpenter
Jennifer Cayer
Will Chancellor
Lindsey Drager
Melissa Duclos
Grant Faulkner
Matthew Gavin Frank
Kim Fu
Paul Gasbarra
J. M. Geever
Kaya Genç
Tyler Gillespie
Dan Gonzalez
Georgi Gospodinov
John Kendall Hawkins
Dale Herd
Jaime Rochelle Herndon
Shane Hinton
Claire Needell Hollander
Brian Ted Jones
Eva Jurczyk
Matthew Kaberline
Alexander Kalamaroff
David H. Krause
Jeff Lennon
Jessa Lingel
Michelle Lipinski
Nathan Lynch
Alain Mabanckou
Ryan MacDonald
Ben Marcus
Ilana Masad
Lee Matalone
Kirk Michael
Shawn Andrew Mitchell
Julie Morse
Brian Nicholson
Lauren O’Neal
Kelsey Osgood
Graham Oliver
Ben Oreskes
Amy Pence
Christine Perez
Janette Platana
Dan Pribble
Amarnath Ravva
Brook Reeder
James Reich
Robert Rosenberger
Tatiana Ryckman
Jocelyne Saucier
Jason Schwartz
Nina Schuyler
Nathan Smith
Kaj Tanaka
Chris Tarry
Ryan Teitman
Cam Terwilliger
Matthew Thomas
Hannah Thurman
Erica Watson
Troy James Weaver
Ashley Wells
Luke Wiget
Kim Winternheimer
Karl Wirsing
Carolyn Yates